Webmail Member Search Skip to main content A+ A A-
Log in
Logo-SINP Title Logo : M K Gandhi

Ramanujan Lecture: Prof. Ashoke Sen

Title             : Future of Our Universe
Date & Time : 21st February, 2018 at 4.30 PM
Venue           : SINP Auditorium

News Image
Abstract : The discovery of dark energy 20 years ago has changed our understanding of the long term future of our universe in many ways. In this talk I shall discuss ourcurrent understanding of this subject.

Profile : < /strong> Prof. Ashoke Sen is a distinguished professor at the Harish-Chandra Research Institute, Allahabad and works in the area of string theory. He earned his Bachelor of Science degree in 1975 from Presidency College and completed his Master’s from IIT Kanpur. He completed his doctoral work in physics from the State University of New York, Stony Brook in 1982. Prof. Sen did his postdoctoral research at the Fermilab, USA and Stanford Linear Accelerator Centre, USA. Subsequently he came back to India and joined the Tata Institute of Fundamental Research in 1988 where he remained till 1995. Finally he moved to Harish-Chandra Research Institute in 1995.
Prof. Sen has made a number of major original contributions to the subject of string theory, including his landmark work on strong-weak coupling duality or S-duality, study of unstable D-branes, Sen conjecture about open string tachyon condensation, entropy function formalism for statistical interpretation of Bekenstein-Hawking entropy of black holes. He has won numerous prestigious awards. To name a few, Prof. Sen is a recipient of the Dirac Medal, Fundamental Physics Prize, Infosys Prize, G.D. Birla Award for Scientific Research, TWAS Prize, Bhatnagar Prize, ICTP Prize. The Govt of India has conferred Padma Shri and Padma Bhushan to Prof. Sen. He is also a Fellow of the Royal Society, UK. 





                                                                                                         Terms & Conditions   |   Copyright Policy  |   Hyperlinking Policy   |   Privacy Policy  |  Disclaimer  |  Help
Copyright © 2019  Saha Institute of Nuclear Physics. All Rights Reserved. Designed & Developed by UCDS