Department of Atomic Energy, Govt. of India
SINP Home Webmail Member Search A+ A A-
Log in

Faces and Places

Alexander von Humboldt Foundation

The Alexander von Humboldt Foundation has made research awards to Jol Feltesse of CEA/Saclay and Bikash Sinha, director of the Saha Institute of Nuclear Physics.

faces 2
Feltesse and Sinha

Feltesse has received one of six Helmhotz-Humboldt awards made annually to internationally acknowledged scientists from outside Germany in recognition of their research achievements. These are awarded jointly by the Alexander von Humboldt Foundation and the Helmholtz Association. The award to Feltesse acknowledges his outstanding contribution to the study of deep inelastic scattering and the important role he played in the development of European particle physics during his time as spokesman of the H1 experiment at DESY, as director of DAPNIA at Saclay, and as chair of CERN's Scientific Policy Committee. He was among the first to realize the importance of low x physics in the exploration of high gluon densities in the proton.

Sinha has received a Humboldt research award for his exceptional achievements in changing the scale and dimensions of nuclear-physics research in India. Sinha, who is also director of the Variable Energy Cyclotron Centre (VECC), worked with the Mumbai-based Bhabha Atomic Research Centre and successfully campaigned for the setting up of heavy-ion accelerators in India. The VECC is currently working on a superconducting cyclotron and a project to develop a radioactive-beam facility.

CERN COURIER; Volume 41, No.6, 2006


Last Updated on Friday, 11 April 2014 19:09
Copyright © 2020 Saha Institute of Nuclear Physics. All Rights Reserved. Designed & Developed by UCDS